3.0 Balance

bal-ance  /ˈbaləns/ a condition in which different elements are equal or in the correct proportions.

2015-09-13-21-11-43

Balance is an extremely difficult task.

Balancing your diet.

Balancing your life.

Balancing on one foot.

I would argue that #2 is by far the most difficult of the three, but also, the most important. Balancing on one foot is not life threatening. Balancing your diet is a luxury that can be purchased. But balancing your life. . .
Damn.  That’s tough.

It is a struggle familiar to most, difficult for many, and essential for all.

Over the last few years, I have attempted to achieve all three. I have certainly had my ups and downs. Without a doubt in my mind, I can say that I am very happy with the balance that I have achieved.  As I was thinking about this today, I thought ‘how did I do this? How did I find it within myself to do this one my own?’ Then it I realized that I didn’t.

I didn’t do it on my own. I have a support system that has built the strongest foundation I could ever hope for; My family, My Friends, My Co-Workers, and yes, even my social networks. All of these people have helped shape who I am.

Then, I thought, I would still really love to have that voice of reason in my life. That person to tell me when I’m being silly. Someone who knows every side of me, and loves me just the same. Then I remembered my sister’s wedding (because: shiny object).  At her rehearsal dinner, she gave me a card saying that we were each other’s yin / yang. I loved that sentiment so much, I added it to my speech for the following day.

2015-09-13-21-24-05

To my sister, Kristen, I realize that you have been there for me my ENTIRE life, and I don’t know that I have ever truly said “Thank you”.

You have been a huge influence on the woman I am today (for better or worse).
You keep me going .
You are my balance, and I just want you to know that I appreciate it.

 

 

In addition, I want to address that fact that last week was National Suicide Prevention Week.  This post was partially inspired by this fact.  I have been fortunate enough to have this amazing support to help me whenever I have been down.  I cannot ever put into words how important they are to me.  However, I do know that there can be days that feel as if life is out to get you.  Those days suck. But that’s the thing.  It’s just a day.  Don’t take for granted the fact that tomorrow, you get up and you have another chance to do it again, just better.  Find something in every single day that makes you smile. 

Every day, smile one more time than you did the day before.

Repeat this until you smile all damn day.

Find your balance.

Music Vibes: So Small – Carrie Underwood

Leave a Reply

